

**Councillors' Forum** 16 September 2010

Item 1

### Membership of the Councillors' Forum

### **Purpose of report**

For decision.

### Summary

This report outlines the Membership, Terms of Reference and Meeting dates for the Local Government Group Councillors' Forum.

### Recommendation(s)

The Forum is asked to:

• formally note the membership and terms of reference for the LG Group Councillors' Forum

#### Action

• Officers to take forward any actions as appropriate.

Contact officer:	Cathy Boyle	
Position:	Member Support Manager	
Phone no:	020 7664 3205	
E-mail:	<u>cathy.boyle@local.gov.uk</u>	



**Councillors' Forum** 16 September 2010

Item 1

# Membership of the Councillors' Forum 2010-11

This Forum comprises 100 members appointed by the LGA political groups in proportion to their political strength on the Association.		
Councillor	Authority	
Conservative [46]		
Teresa O'Neill	Bexley LB	
Les Lawrence	Birmingham City	
Paul Bettison	Bracknell Forest UA	
Gareth Barnard	Bracknell Forest UA	
Baroness Eaton DBE [Chairman]	Bradford City	
Geoffrey Theobald OBE	Brighton and Hove	
Peter Hardy	Buckinghamshire CC	
David Shakespeare OBE	Buckinghamshire CC	
Shona Johnstone	Cambridgeshire CC	
Richard Stay	Central Bedfordshire Council	
Paul Findlow	Cheshire East Council	
Peter Goldsworthy	Chorley BC	
Chris Millar	Daventry DC	
Andrew Lewer	Derbyshire CC	
Peter Martin	Essex CC	
Stephen Castle	Essex CC	
Andrew Gravells	Gloucester City / Gloucestershire CC	
Ken Thornber CBE	Hampshire CC	
Roger Phillips	Herefordshire Council	
Robert Gordon	Hertfordshire Council	
David Lloyd	Hertfordshire Council	
David Simmonds	Hillingdon LB	
David Pugh	Isle of Wight Council	
Sir Merrick Cockell	Kensington & Chelsea RB	
Baroness Shireen Ritchie	Kensington & Chelsea RB	
Paul Carter	Kent CC	
Robert Light	Kirklees MBC	
Clare Whelan	Lambeth LB	
David Parsons CBE	Leicestershire CC	
David Smith	Lichfield DC	
Brian Hood	Monmouthshire CBC	
Daniel Cox	Norfolk CC	



16 September 2010

Item 1

James Harker	Northamptonshire CC	
Keith Mitchell CBE	Oxfordshire CC	
Neil Clarke	Rushcliffe BC	
Sir Ron Watson CBE	Sefton MBC	
Peter Fleming	Sevenoaks DC	
Ken Maddock	Somerset CC	
Gary Porter	South Holland DC	
Jeffrey Milburn	South Tyneside MBC	
Philip Atkins	Staffordshire CC	
Sir William Lawrence Bt OBE	Stratford on Avon DC	
Jeremy Pembroke	Suffolk CC	
Andrew Povey	Surrey CC	
Andrew Bowles	Swale DC	
Gordon Keymer CBE	Tandridge DC	
Labour [27] (plus sub pool)		
Rocky Gill	Barking & Dagenham LB	
Steve Houghton CBE	Barnsley MBC	
Catharine Grundy	Birmingham City	
Simon Blackburn	Blackpool BC	
Eion Watts	Bolsover DC	
Linda Thomas	Bolton MBC	
Ian Greenwood	Bradford MDC	
Helen Holland	Bristol City	
Tulip Siddiq	Camden LB	
Dorothy Flude	Cheshire East Council	
Derek Bateman	Cheshire West & Chester Council	
Julie Young	Colchester BC	
Ann Lucas	Coventry City	
John Mutton	Coventry City	
Stewart Young	Cumbria CC	
David J Wilcox OBE	Derbyshire CC	
Anne Western	Derbyshire CC	
Sandra Holland	Doncaster MBC	
David Sparks OBE	Dudley MBC	
Simon Henig	Durham County	
Mayor Jules Pipe	Hackney LB	
Tony McDermott	Halton BC	
Claire Kober	Haringey LB	
Caitlin Bisknell	High Peak BC	



16 September 2010

Item 1

Anita MacDonald	Hillingdon LB	
Ruth Cadbury	Hounslow LB	
Jagdish Sharma	Hounslow LB	
Bryony Rudkin	Ipswich BC	
Robert Khan	Islington LB	
Judith Blakeman	Kensington & Chelsea RB	
Mehboob Khan	Kirklees MBC	
Ron Round JP	Knowsley MBC	
Steve Reed	Lambeth LB	
Judith Blake	Leeds City	
Vi Dempster	Leicester City	
Mayor Sir Steve Bullock	Lewisham LB	
Robert Parker	Lincolnshire CC	
Sue Murphy	Manchester City	
Robin Wales	Newham LB	
Mark Kirk	North Lincolnshire Council	
Ian Swithenbank CBE	Northumberland Council	
Graham R Chapman	Nottingham City	
Ed Turner	Oxford City	
Roger Stone	Rotherham MBC	
Russell Robert	Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC	
Roger Stone	Rotherham MBC	
John D Merry CBE	Salford City	
Steve Eling	Sandwell MBC	
Roger M Hutchinson	South Gloucestershire Council	
lain Malcolm	South Tyneside MBC	
Richard Williams	Southampton City	
Catherine McDonald	Southwark LB	
Marie Rimmer	St Helens MBC	
Sharon Taylor	Stevenage BC	
Andrew Verdeille	Stockport MBC	
Paul Watson	Sunderland City	
David Phillips	Swansea City	
Brenda Warrington	Tameside MBC	
David Edgar	Tower Hamlets LB	
Peter Box	Wakefield City	
Clyde Loakes	Waltham Forest LB	
Tony Belton	Wandsworth LB	
Fred Walker	Wigan MBC	
Lord Peter Smith	Wigan MBC	
Ann McLachlan	Wirral MBC	



16 September 2010

Item 1

Cllr Roger Lawrence	Wolverhampton City	
Liberal Democrat [20]		
David Bellotti	Bath & North East Somerset Council	
Steven Comer	Bristol UA	
Councilman Edward Lord JP	City of London	
David Rogers OBE	East Sussex CC	
Tom Smith-Hughes	Essex CC	
Chris White	Hertfordshire CC	
Abigail Bell	Hull City	
Carl Minns	Hull City	
Liz Green	Kingston upon Thames RB	
Kath Pinnock	Kirklees MBC	
Duwayne Brooks	Lewisham LB	
John Commons	Manchester City	
Paul Shannon	Manchester City	
Richard Knowles	Oldham MBC	
Howard Sykes	Oldham MBC	
Jill Shortland	Somerset CC	
Cathy Bakewell	Somerset CC	
Stan Collins	South Lakeland DC	
Lord Graham Tope CBE	Sutton LB	
Mayor Dorothy Thornhill	Watford BC	
Independent [7]		
Peter Jones	Babergh BC	
Alan Seldon	Herefordshire Council	
Roger Dennison	Lancaster City	
Chris Townsend	Mole Valley DC	
Marianne Overton	North Kesteven DC	
George Elsom	South Tyneside MBC	
Bob Dutton	Wrexham CBC	



Councillors' Forum 16 September 2010

Item 1

# LG Group Councillors' Forum

### **Terms of Reference**

The purpose of the LG Group Councillors' Forum is to provide an effective means of holding the LG Group to account by:

- Considering the monthly Chief Executives Report outlining Group activity and achievements;
- Receiving reports from the LG Group Programme Board chairs, providing views and challenge;
- Discussing topical cross-cutting issues impacting on local government to ensure effective connections are being made across programme boards.

The LG Group Councillors' Forum may:

- Receive briefings and hold discussions on topical issues impacting on local government, to ensure members have sufficient information to hold the LG Group to account;
- Request the attendance of external speakers where that supports the Forum in carrying out its role.



16 September 2010

Item 1

# Meeting Dates 2010-11

DAY (2010)	DATE	TIME	ROOM / VENUE
Thursday	16 September 2010	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
Thursday	14 October 2010	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
Thursday	11 November 2010	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
	NO DECEMBER MEETING		
DAY (2011)			
Thursday	13 January 2011	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
Thursday	10 February 2011	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
Thursday	17 March 2011	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
	NO APRIL MEETING		
Thursday	19 May 2011	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
Thursday		12.30-1.30pm	0.1
Thursday	16 June 2011	12.30-1.30pm	8.1
			-
Thursday	14 July 2011	12.30-1.30pm	8.1

### Timings for each day:

LG Group Executive:10-12pmLunch:12-12.30pm (Members' Lounge)Councillor Forum:12.30-1.30pm (8.1)Political Group Meetings:1.30-3.30pm (rooms to be confirmed)